Hot on the wheels of his Amapiano-infused smash single ‘Ozumba Mbadiwe’, Reekado Banks has just served up the second instalment of his Off the Record series. That blurring of the line between newer experiences, consciousness and intimate details is what Reekado Banks captures with the 5-track EP.

The project opener “Pulling Up” and the closer “Self Esteem” establish and seal off the mood with mellow grooves cocooning Banks’ balmy melodies. On “Ozumba Mbadiwe”, Reekado Banks is reflective, conscious and groovy. Applying an enlivened touch to Afrobeats rhythms, the singer shows off his tongue-in-cheek lyricism and sensuality on “Lupita Nyongo” and “Selection”.

2020’s Off the Record Vol. 1 and the newly-released sequel are precursors to Reekado Banks’ sophomore album planned for a future release.

Listen here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.