Afenifere, a pan-Yoruba socio-cultural group has urged the Federal Government to revert to the 1963 constitution abrogated by the military for the country to move forward.

This was contained in a communique issued at the end of the meeting of the group, held at the house of its acting leader, Chief Ayo Adebanjo, on Tuesday, at Sanya-Ogbo, in Odogbolu Local Government Area of the state.

The group said most of the challenges confronting the country at present would not have risen if the 1963 Constitution had not been jettisoned.

The communique read, “Afenifere recalled that during the struggle for Independence and the mantra of ‘One Nigeria’ was being sung, Chief Obafemi Awolowo insisted that federalism is the only system of government that could sustain Nigeria as a country.

“The Federal Constitution enabled Nigeria to progress very well until the military scuttled the republican federal Constitution in 1966.

“We have been consistent in opposing military midwifed Constitution. Afenifere, through Alliance for Democracy (AD), participated in the 1999 elections, not because we believe in that Constitution but to let the South West stand politically in Nigeria.

“That was why we advocated for Sovereign National Conference, SNC. Although, the past administration of Dr Jonathan Goodluck did a National Conference rather than the SNC that we advocated. It is on record that the report of the said Confab was never implemented.

“This is why we have again consistently been calling for a renegotiation of the basis of our staying together as a country.”

“Afenifere has been consistent in its call for a replacement of the present Constitution and in restructuring. In other words, we are consistent – and now still insisting that restructuring that berths true federalism must take place before the 2023 elections.”

The meeting also deliberated on the consistent advocacy by Dr Ahmed Gumi on the government to pardon terrorists and to even compensate them in various ways.

The meeting was presided over by Pa. Adebanjo and had in attendance the Deputy Leader, Oba Oladipo Olaitan; Assistant Secretary-General, Honourable Leke Mabinuori; Chief Cornelius Adebayo; Dr Olusegun Mimiko; Chief Supo Sonibare: Akogun Kole Omololu; Senator Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele; Senator Gbenga Kaka; Chief Dayo Duyile; Dr Yomi Atte; Prof Opeyemi Agbaje to mention a few.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.